22
Jul
08

I Had A Thought…

This past weekend our Senior Pastor finished a 3 week series entitled the Gospel on Broadway. Each of the 3 weeks we took a look at a one popular musical and found the gospel message in it. I heard 2 of the 3 sermons and they were excellent! This past weekend the musical of the weekend was Disney’s High School Musical. The message was great and we even saw a live performance of a few of the songs…it was awesome!!

If you are at all familiar with High School Musical you know it is very popular, especially among upper elementary girls. A very interesting effect of this sermon (At least I thought it was!) was the idea that many kids may choose attending worship instead of attending Sunday school for the day. This thought crossed my mind Saturday evening after the service and this was the first time I can remember this being a possibility since getting involved in Children’s ministry 6 years ago.

I think it’s great when families worship together, but I believe that our kids programming is great as well. So this begs the question…How do we effectively minister to the kids of our community but at the same time minister to families? This question about the relationship between Family Ministry and Children’s Ministry has become a question that many churches are asking. I have some thoughts on this relationship and hope to post those in my next blog titled..I Have Thoughts!


2 Responses to “I Had A Thought…”


  1. July 23, 2008 at 6:34 am

    Nick – I think that this is a great question. I had not made the connection between the particular sermon series and families worshiping together – but it is a good one. I am excited to hear your next thoughts…

  2. 2 Daddyo
    July 26, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Hey Nick this is a good question that I have struggled with for years. So many of churches spend all of our time seperating the kids from thier familys or the young from the old or on and on it goes. We are one body and we need each other. I have learned some great lessons from kids and old folks alike. Enough said, this is your blog! I will stay tuned.


Leave a comment


FYI

Everything here represents my own opinion and not the opinion of The United Methodist Church of The Resurrection or The United Methodist Church. It's purely my own random thoughts.